"It is with great pleasure that I share the press release below with all of you.  This is a true testament to the amazing staff at North Side and the amazing work they have put in to get to this point!  Congratulations!" (Aaron Black, Superintendent of Schools, RESC)
Press Release:  May 9, 2022
The Indiana Department of Education (IDOE) today announced 15 schools are newly-certified as leaders in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. This brings Indiana’s total number of STEM Certified Schools to more than 100 statewide.
“With now upwards of 100 STEM Certified Schools across the state, these schools are leading the way in helping our students explore, engage, and gain experiences in STEM fields,” said Dr. Katie Jenner, Indiana Secretary of Education. “I’ve directly witnessed several of these schools’ innovative approaches to inquiry- and problem-based learning, as they integrate STEM across their curriculum and engage families and community partners to help students build knowledge and skills that will serve them throughout their lives.”
Created in 2015, the STEM Certified Schools program recognizes schools committed to teaching STEM disciplines beyond the classroom. STEM Certified Schools exemplify a highly innovative approach to education, employing a great deal of inquiry, project-based learning, community engagement, entrepreneurship, student-centered classrooms, integration into humanities and related arts and out-of-school STEM activities. For secondary schools in particular, earning STEM certification requires heightened intention and coordination in terms of vision, scheduling and interdisciplinary collaboration.
This year’s new STEM Certified Schools are:
Bailly STEM Academy, Gary Community School Corporation
Brentwood Elementary School, Plainfield Community School Corporation
Career Academy High School South Bend
Career Academy Middle School South Bend
Edgewood Junior High, Richland-Bean Blossom Community School Corporation
Farmersville Elementary School, MSD Mount Vernon
Guilford Elementary School, Plainfield Community School Corporation
Indiana Math & Science Academy West
John S. Irwin Elementary School, Fort Wayne Community Schools
Marrs Elementary School, MSD Mount Vernon
North Side Elementary School, Randolph Eastern Community Schools
South Ripley Elementary School, South Ripley Community School Corporation
Van Buren Elementary School, Plainfield Community School Corporation
West Elementary School, MSD Mount Vernon
Whitney Young Early Childhood Center, Fort Wayne Community Schools

View a complete list of Indiana STEM Certified schools here. Schools interested in pursuing STEM Certification can review guidance here.